

Cnr Medway and Steward Streets P.O. Box 272 Phone 434-7455 Email: bridgeclub@xtra.co.nz

MINUTES OF 57th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF OAMARU BRIDGE CLUB INCORPORATED HELD AT CLUBROOMS STEWARD STREET OAMARU 26 November 2020 at 7.00pm

PRESENT:

The meeting was chaired by the President Theo Jordens with 60 members in attendance.

Apologies

Arthur Vogel; Trish Hollows; Wendy Fleming; Joan Chamberlain; Darryl Sidon; Heather McCulloch; Elspeth Mitchell; Peter McLellan; Edna Adamson; Jan Davidson; Roz Armstrong; Brian Papps; Ann Rooney; Lynda Roberston; Andy Anderson; Caron Sullivan; Gladys Youngman.

Moved: T. Jordens Seconded: A. Brown - carried.

2. Approval of Minutes of 2019 AGM

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 28 November 2019 were circulated and taken as read.

Moved: M. Farmer Seconded: J. Edmonds - carried.

3. President's Annual Report

T. Jordens spoke to his report which had been circulated and taken as read.

Moved: J. Kissell Seconded: L. Drew - carried.

4. Balance Sheet and Income and Expenditure Accounts

P. O'Boyle presented the balance sheet and Income and Expenditure Accounts (examined by Dick Cottier) for approval.

He expressed his thanks to Peter Simpson for carrying out the banking duties. He advised that the 2021 financial year would be his last as Treasurer.

He noted that Tony Brady, the previous examiner, had died during the course of the year and that Dick Cottier had taken over. The Club had a loss for the 2020 financial year of around \$15,000 after depreciation with major spends during the year on the maintenance including the roof (it would have been higher but for the receipt of the Covid 19 payments for the cleaner). This continued a trend of an operating loss after depreciation over the past few years of around \$2,000 per year and if this continues and the membership continues to decline it is likely to increase to around \$5,000 for the next financial year. The Club needed to be aware that it will be facing earthquake strengthening requirements from the Council by no later than 2030 and there needs to be a building up of funds to address that and other maintenance issues.

The balance sheet and Income and Expenditure Accounts (examined by Dick Cottier) be accepted:

Moved: P. O'Boyle Seconded: R. Henderson - carried.

Appointment of Examiner

P. O'Boyle moved that Dick Cottier be appointed as the examiner for the 2021 financial year.

Moved: P. O'Boyle Seconded: E. McCone - carried.

6. Subscriptions for 2020

The Committee had resolved that the subscription and table money for 2021 be as follows:

- the subscription rate be a flat \$80 per annum. However for those members for whom the Club does not have to pay the NZ Bridge Levy (being those who have a home club elsewhere or who are youth members) the subscription should be \$57 per annum -the NZ Bridge Levy being \$23 per annum per member; and
- the table money be increased to \$3 per session played

and the resolutions were now presented to the members for ratification as per clause 12(c) of the Constitution.

In introducing this agenda item P. O'Boyle explained that of the table money collected 30c went straight to New Zealand Bridge and that GST is payable on the sum. He noted that the Club has to make up this year's deficit and needs to be properly funded going forward. T. Jordens noted that the Club needed 1200 tables per year just to cover the basic running costs of the Club.

The resolutions were opened to the floor for comment. A number of members expressed strong views both in favour of and against the resolutions. It was pointed out that for members (particularly couples) who play frequently this would add a considerable additional cost on an annual basis, the issue of raising subs rather than table money was thoroughly canvassed, the value for a session's play was also discussed. After this the resolutions were put to the meeting separately:

Table money to be increased to \$3 per session:

Moved: P. O'Boyle Seconded: E. McCone - on a hand count 43 members in favour - carried.

Subscription to be a flat rate of \$80 per annum (as per the above):

Moved: P. O'Boyle Seconded: A. Brown - no dissenting voices - carried.

7. Election of Committee

A. Brown advised that the positions of President, Vice-President, Treasurer, Secretary, Match Secretary and Tournament Secretary had received only one nomination for each position and therefore those persons were elected unopposed.

6 nominations had been received for the remaining six positions on the Committee and therefore those persons were also elected unopposed.

The 2021 Committee is therefore:

President:
Vice-President
Treasurer
Secretary
Match Secretary
Tournament Secretary
Other Members:

Junelle Edmonds Liz Drew Peter O'Boyle Alison Brown Theo Jordens Liz Drew

Doug Appleby (Bronze)

Margie Baird Arie Doppenburg Julia Knight Peter McLellan (Bronze) Louise Whitelock Theo Jordens

Immediate Past-President

9. Other Business

- T. Jordens noted that Roz Armstrong would no longer be managing the kitchen and asked for volunteers to replace her.
- L. Rowlands raised questions around the functioning of the new handicapping system and was advised that lack of play as a result of Covid 19 this year has meant that the bedding down of the system is not yet complete.
- T. Jordens noted that Blair Corlet and Carl Pedersen had been promoted to Silver.
- P. Mountain noted the achievements of F. Sheehy representing the Otago-Southland region at the recent Women's Inter Provincial Pairs Tournament.
- P. Davies thanked all those involved for making the Xmas Dinner such a success.
- I. Williams proposed a vote of thanks to T. Jordens for his presidency over the past two years.

The meeting closed at 7.55pm.

Signed as true and correct:

Junelle Edmonds

President

Dated: 26 November 2021