MINUTES OF MEETING OF OAMARU BRIDGE CLUB INCORPORATED HELD AT CLUBROOMS STEWARD STREET OAMARU

12 June 2024 at 7pm

PRESENT:

			Junelle Edmonds		Alison Brown
Theo Jordens		Bev Conlan		Peter McLellan	Peter Simpson
Derick	Van	Louise Whitelock			
Basten				Land Control of Control	A Company of A State

1. Apologies

Liz Drew¹, Graham Mills, Lyn Dunlop and Margie Baird.

Moved: TJ Seconded: AB- carried.

In the absence of Liz Drew and Margie Baird the meeting was chaired by Junelle Edmonds.

2. Minutes

Minutes of the meeting of 8 May 2024 were circulated.

Moved: TJ Seconded: LW- carried.

3. Matters Arising

Health and Safety

None.

Renewal of Club Liquor Licence

AB advised that the application had been completed and filed and was advertised in the Oamaru Mail on 31 May 2024. She will complete the final steps as required.

Building WOF

AB advised that the renewed WOF and accompanying report had been provided to the council as required.

4. Correspondence

JE noted that a condolence card had been sent to Peter Wylie.

Moved: AB Seconded: TJ- carried.

5. Treasurer's Report

In the absence of the Treasurer his report had been circulated along with the accounts to be approved and ratified. JE noted 2 additional invoices (TradeMe for \$98.93 for toners and House of Cards for \$310 for the Green books).

¹ Liz Drew abbreviated to LD; Lyn Dunlop to LynD

The report and the accounts/invoices for ratification and authorisation (including the extra two referred to above) were approved.

Moved: AB Seconded: JE- carried.

6. Learners, Continuing Education and Directors

LW advised that the learners had been formed into teams for the Handicap Teams event.

7. Maintenance

PMcL/DvB to organise a fire drill at an appropriate time.

8. General Business

- The following were approved as new members of the Club:
 - Alison Christian
 - Jenny Gawn
 - Wendy McCoy
 - Jeanette Read
 - Natalie Evans
 - Diane Tonkin
 - Jason McCoy
 - Jacko Jackson
 - Viv Gamble
 - Ruth Sheehan
 - Raelene Souness
 - Pablo Linares
 - Kerry Greenhalgh
 - Dave Skinner
 - Bill Blakey
 - Maggie James
 - Mary-Ann Beets
 - Judy Smith
 - Raewyn Thorpe

Moved: TJ Seconded: JE- carried.

Mid South Island Interclub Teams

The club will be represented by:

Open: Francis Sheehy, Peter Mountain, Dennis Norman and Brian Papps Intermediate: Kerry Kelly, Blair Corlet, Theo Jordens and Darrell Sidon

Junior: Lei Xia, Clare Newlands, Wayne and Sally Grant

Table Etiquette

AB to remind members that it is North's responsibility to place the board the correct way on the table and to ensure that the correct number is being played. South is responsible for entering the contract and result for the correct board in the tablet and East shares the responsibility to ensure that the correct information is entered for the correct board.

- It was agreed that as there is a "spare" Monday and Tuesday in the last week of November that an additional Individual round will be added. However the overall results will remain as the best 6 out of 9.
- The issue of finalising the club's contribution to the costs for members representing Otago-Southland in the Interprovincial competitions would be considered at the next meeting

Next meeting -10 July 2024 at 7pm

Signed as true and correct:

Junelle Edmonds Former President

Dated: 10 July 2024