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NEWS FROM THE COMMITTEE 

 Thanks to those that attended the Special General 

Meeting with regard to the rules changes. The 

minutes for these have been posted on our Web-

site under resources. 

 We would love to see a great turn out from our 

club for the Graded 8B tournament on 28th July. 

As a small incentive you will get a chit for 1 night’s 

free table money. Please show your support for 

our club by making the effort! 

 Christine Fletcher has a new phone number 

4811510. 

 It would be great if all members could endeavour 

to turn up at least 5 minutes before the start of 

play. This in turn helps to get underway quickly 

and finish earlier at the other end of the night.   

 

 

TOURNAMENTS COMING UP: 

14th July—Gore Open 8B Pairs 

21st July—Winton Open 5A Pairs Tournament 

22nd July—Otago Junior 3B Pairs 

28th July—Taieri Graded 8B Tournament—we would 

love to see great support from our members for this. 

5th August—Otago Swiss Pairs 5A Tournament 

DISGUISING A SINGLETON OPENING LEAD 

-  from “52 Great Bridge Tips on Declarer 

Play” by David Bird 

As declarer you can sometimes be certain that the 
opening lead is a singleton. If your right-hand op-
ponent holds the Ace of the suit and can draw the 
same conclusion, he may defeat your contract by 
giving his partner a ruff. 
 
In such a situation you must attempt to disguise 
the opening lead. You can often do this by hiding a 
lower spot-card in your hand. Suppose East opens 
3 and West leads a diamond against your even-
tual game in a major suit. The diamond suit lies 
like this:  
 
 
 
 
 
 
You play the queen from dummy and East wins 
with the King. Let’s say first that you give the 
matter little thought and follow with the 3. Since 

West would not have led the 5 from 7 - 5, 
East will know for sure that his partner started 
with a singleton. Armed with this knowledge, it 

may suit him to cash the A and play a third 
round of the suit. 
 
To make life more difficult for East, you should 
follow with the 7 on the first trick. Since the 5 

would be the normal lead from 5-3, East will 
now have no idea where the 3 is. It will be dan-

gerous for him to cash the A in case you have no 
more diamonds. You would then be able to ruff 
and score a trick with dummy’s J. 
 
    Continued next page 



Your deceptive play will not always succeed, of course. East may be able to calculate: “We probably can’t 
beat this contract unless declarer has a doubleton diamond.” That’s life. Sometimes defender do the right 
thing. The point to remember is that you have absolutely nothing to lose by playing the 7. Much of the 
time East will be fooled and he’ll let you make a contract that could have been defeated. 
 
Let’s see this style of play in the context of a full deal: 

reluctant to play the A next. You might then be able to ruff and subsequently take a discard on the estab-

lished J in dummy (perhaps throwing a diamond if you held A-x). He may decide to switch to a diamond 
instead, letting the contract through. There is not much point trying to analyse whether East should lead a 
diamond or his other top heart at trick two. The point is that he is certain to get it right unless you drop the 
Q. Do this and you give East a problem. Sometimes he/she will go wrong. 
 

Again—something to ponder on!! 
 

 

Happy reading 

Barbara Wilkes 

Editor 

How would you play the spade game when West leads the 

6 and East wins with the K? 

The normal play with this heart holding is to follow with 

the 2 assuring yourself of a heart trick. ‘Normal’ plays 

are not always right! Suppose you follow with the 2 

here. Since West would not have led from 6 from Q  -  

6, East can be absolutely certain that the opening lead 

was a singleton. He will continue with the A and then 

play a third round of hearts. This will promote a heart trick 

for West and you will go down whether you ruff high, ruff 

with a 10 or discard. 

A better idea is to follow smoothly with the Q at trick 

one. If East reads this card as a singleton, he will be  


