
TAIERI BRIDGE CLUB 

NEWSLETTER 

 
 

MAY 2017 

News from the Committee: 

 Thanks to all those that supported the Hospice Tournament held on Sunday 7th May. A special 
thanks to Eve for all the organising she did to make this such a successful event. A total of 
$1030.00 was raised.  18 full tables were in attendance on the day. Thanks to all members who 
donated prizes as well as Mosgiel New World and Wal’s who donated prizes. Well done to 6 of our 
own members who made it in the top 3 North South and East West results.  

 It will come around quickly but don’t forget we have another fun night coming up on Queen’s 
Birthday Monday. Hope to see you there . 

 A challenge to you all – if you used to play Wednesday nights and haven’t been for a while – all is 
forgiven – come back and have fun in the great atmosphere. If you haven’t tried Wednesday 
nights at all then take it from someone new to Wednesday nights who was reported to say “It’s 
not as scary as I thought it would be and everyone is so friendly”. Try it for yourself. If you 
currently play this night then how about inviting someone new to come along!! 

 Tournaments coming up: 
o May 21st Otago Bridge Club Save the Children Charity Pairs. Start time 1.30 but be there by 

1.15.  Cost is $10.00 
o May 27th – Gore Intermediate 5B and Junior 3B Pairs, cost $20.00. Entries close 22 May. 
o June 3rd and 4th – Otago Southland 10A Teams and Pairs 

Opening Lead out of Turn 
When a defender makes an opening lead out of turn, the declarer has so many choices to make that it can 
often be very confusing. Here is an explanation of some of the choices and some tips for making the most 
advantageous decision in each case. 

1.  Declarer can accept the lead and become Dummy. His/her hand goes down on the table and 
partner plays. OR 

2.  Declarer can accept the lead and remain Declarer. Dummy goes down on the table and Declarer 
can look at it before playing a card from his/her hand. 

Tip: The decision about whether to accept the opening lead is based on 2 things: (1) Can I win that trick or at 
least regain control in the second round? And (2) Do I want the weak or the strong hand on the table? Usually 
you want the strong hand OFF the table so any weaknesses in it remain hidden from the opposition. 

If the opening lead is in your weak suit (i.e. you have only losers in it), you would choose not to accept it. In this 
case, the lead must come from the correct hand and you have 3 further choices. 

3.  You can require the lead to be in the same suit as the incorrect lead. In this case, the incorrect 
lead is picked up and does not have to be played as long as Defender follows suit. 

Tip: This would be a strategic decision if you have a broken suit in your hand that you want the opposition to 

lead into. Not recommended unless you know what you are doing. 

4.  You can forbid a lead in the same suit as the incorrect lead. (Once again, the incorrect lead is 
picked up.) Defender cannot lead from the forbidden suit as long as s/he retains the lead. 

Tip: This is your best bet if you’ve got losers in this suit that you hope you will be able to throw away (pitch) on 
one of your strong suits. 



Director’s Decision(s) 

North 
 S 2 
 H Q 7 4 
 D K953 
 C J8532 
West East 
S AQJ3 S 987 
H KJ82 H A93 
D 74 D A106 
C KQ10 C A976  
 South 
 S K10654 
 H 1065 
 D QJ82 
 C 4 
Bidding  
 S E N W 
2S  2NT  NB  3C  
NB  3H  NB 4H  
NB  NB  5C  X  
NB  NB  5D  X  
All pass, result  -4  
 

Directors don’t necessarily have an easy job, and they do not always 
agree. This situation arose at another club recently and advice was sought 
— NS are top players, EW fairly good intermediates. Dealer South; EW 
vulnerable.  
 
2S was alerted and explained as "weak with spades and a minor" 2NT was 
alerted and explained as "both minors". 
NS maintained the "wrong explanation" prevented North from bidding 3C 
(pass or correct) on the first round thereby enabling NS to judge co-
operatively (and correctly) whether to sacrifice or not.  
West said she knew the agreement was "minors" but didn't know how 
else to bid the hand.  
 
It was ruled the result should stand because:  
[a] EW bidding was not illegal (Law 40A3, I see no evidence East's bidding 
was based on an undisclosed partnership understanding) and  
[b] I don't see how the misinformation would influence North-South's 
decision whether to sacrifice. There could be a case for adjustment if 
there WAS a profitable sacrifice that NS were prevented from finding, 
expecting West to hold both minors.  

Director 1 Clearly the table result should stand if E/W can show a system card that shows the explanation 
of minors is correct. However without that systemic corroboration I am not so happy because West's self-
serving statement that the explanation was correct and she knew that, but didn't know what to do is a 
little odd. Choosing to bid 2NT if you knew that it showed both minors seems way out there. As I have to 
assume this is a mis-explanation and as the result may be different if the correct explanation is given an 
adjusted score is therefore necessary. I go for the simple 60% for N/S and 40% for E/W. 

Director 2 I am a little bemused by the statement "I knew the agreement was 'minors' but didn't know 
how else to bid the hand". Does this now make the bid a psyche? If so, then there are no problems letting 
the result stand that I can see. I also don't really buy that the "wrong explanation" prevented North from 
bidding 3C" etc". 

One Wish 

A bridge duffer was polishing a lamp and… poof! Out popped a genie who said, “I will grant you one 
wish.”  The duffer unfolded a map of the world and said, “Let all of these countries live in peace and 
harmony.”  

“You’ve got to be kidding! I’m only a genie.”  The duffer thought for a while and then suggested, “OK, 
then make me a winning bridge player.”  

“Hmm… ” the genie pondered. “Let me see that map again.” 

 

Happy bridging –be kind to all players while still being competitive!!!! 
Barbara Wilkes 
Editor 


