TAIERI BRIDGE CLUB SEPTEMBER 2023 NEWSLETTER

NOTES FROM THE COMMITTEE:

e Thanks to Marie and helpers for organising a very success-
ful Charity Tournament. Mosgiel Community Foodbank
received $922.00 from this event. A letter of thanks was
received from them assuring us that the funds would help
quite a significant number of people in the Taieri environ-
ment. Thanks to Mosgiel New World with their sponsor-
ship towards some of the prizes.

e The committee is aware that there is a rip in the carpet. It
is in hand to get fixed. We will try to ensure table 3 is left
empty to avoid possible problems of chairs catching.

e Just a reminder that if you know of any of our members
that have been sick in hospital or have had a close be-
reavement to let Barbara know so that she can send a card
out.

e Important—more registrations required for our Junior
Tournament on Sunday 24th September. Currently we
only have enough registrations for 4 tables which is not
enough to go ahead. You only have to be Junior rated for
New Zealand Bridge so there should be a reasonable num-
ber of you that would qualify to enter. Cost is $25.00 per
person. Entry is via NZ Bridge Website.

e At time of writing we do not have a full complement of
committee members. All nominations to be received be-
fore 3rd October.

e Just a reminder that if you have a burning issue for some-
thing to be discussed at the AGM please submit it in
writing before 3rd October as no discussion from the floor
will be allowed this year.

Tournaments:
16 Sept—Winton 8B Open Pairs, $25.00. Entries close 13/09.

More entries urgently required.

17 Sept—Charity Tournament at Otago, 1.30 start, for Camp
Quality, $10.00, entries close 15/09.

24 Sept—Taieri 3B Junior Pairs, 10 am start, closes 21/09.
More entries urgently required. Please email club if paying

for multiple entries

14 October—Balclutha 8B Open Pairs, $30.00, 10 am start,
closes 11/10.

TIPS AND QUIPS CONTRACT BRIDGE by Vil
Gravis

How should 4441 hands be bid? Most people absolutely hate
4441 hands become they so often come to grief in bidding
them. Whatever way they bid them, it seems their partner
misinterprets their distribution or strength, or both. But 4441
hands need not lead to disasters, rather, they can be very
good to play when the 4-4 fit can be found. But how to bid
them? Some say that you open the suit below the singleton,
or the middle one or even the highest one.

A rule which is quite simple is NEVER open a MAJOR if you
have a 4441 hand. That leaves either 1C or 1D. If you have
one of them, you open it. If you have both four card minor
suits, decide which lie will be the least damaging. If, for in-
stance, you open 1D and rebid 2C, partner will take you for
five diamonds and four clubs but will that matter? If you open
1D and rebid 2D partner will think you have five or more. If
you open 1C and rebid 2C partner will think you have five or
more. If you open 1C and rebid 2D that is a reverse and show-
ing a stronger (17+ HCP) hand so are you good enough to do
that? If you open 1C or 1D and rebid 1NT you are showing 15-
16 HCP, but if you have close to that, is it better to rebid INT
with 14 or a good 13 points rather than make a rebid that will
lie about your shape. Just a bit of thinking about your rebid IF
partner responds in your singleton will give you the answer.
At least if you open 1C or 1D you will tell less of a lie with your
rebid.

You will often find that many 4441 hands are good to play if
you have a fit in one of your suits and can embark on a cross
ruff.

BRIDGE I e >
DON'T PLAY BRIDGE ...BUT
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SAME AS BRIDGE,
ISN'T IT 2




DID YOU KNOW?

e When a hand is passed-out, enter “Pass” as the contract, then press “Next”. You never enter “NP” unless so instructed by
the Director

e The East player has an obligation to check the score entered by South. If a mistake is made it can usually be corrected at
the time. Players who come up at the end of play and ask for a result to be altered, do not get a sympathetic hearing.

e Remember South it is a matter of courtesy to show the travelling results to the opposition, or at least to ask if they want to
see them.

AN INTERESTING HAND

Dealer—W; Vul—Both A common dilemma. Your partner has overcalled at the 2 level. Your side is
vulnerable so partner is bound to have a strong suit. On the one hand it is nor-

West Nor;t: Eas: So‘;th mal and appealing to lead your partner’s overcalled suit. On the other hand it
Pass ! 2 2 is unattractive to lead from a suit headed by the ace unless you have the K as
3¢ Pass Pass 3V well. It is a strong possibility that partner has the K but by no means a certain-
Pass 34 All Pass

ty. If you do lead a diamond, it should be the Ace in case dummy or declarer

] ) has a singleton. If you do not lead a diamond, the only reasonable alternative
5-card major

West to lead from - is a club. Dummy has shown a 5 card heart suit, so declarer will be planning to
A 8532 draw trumps and throw any losers on the long suit. In this situation, it is usual-
¥ 84 ly best to lead the unbid suit.

¢* A7 Principle: When dummy has shown a long useful suit, it is usually best to lead
% Q7154 an unbid suit. It is highly attractive to lead partner’s bid suit, but exercise cau-

tion when you hold A without the K

WHAT HAPPENS IF THERE IS A DISAGREEMENT ABOUT HOW MANY TRICKS HAVE BEEN WON?

There is no need to say anything during the play.

If you have counted and don’t agree then call the director before you do anything to the cards. If you remember which trick is
the problem it is helpful but not necessarily.

Interestingly, Law 42 A 2 states that dummy “may keep count of tricks won and lost” which suggests that it is up to declarer and
the two defenders to agree!

Dummy “may try to prevent an irregularity”( Law 42 B 2) so there is a short time interval that he can draw attention to a declar-
er about to place the card the wrong way.

Law 65b3 states that: A player may draw attention to a card pointed incorrectly, but this right expires when his side leads or
plays to the following trick. It must be done at the end of the round.

Law 65D says: A player should not disturb the order of his played cards until agreement has been reached. A player who fails to
comply with the provisions of this law jeopardises his right to claim ownership of doubtful tricks - or to claim or deny a revoke.

And no player is permitted to handle any cards but his own!!

(Thanks to New Plymouth Club as this has been copied from one of their archived newsletters)

Playing the boards

Just a reminder that cards should be called for rather than touched as the laws reiterate
Barbara Wilkes that it is “proper form for designating dummy’s cards”.
NEWSLETTER EDITOR If you are dummy you are not allowed to touch or indicate any card (unless rearranging)

without the instruction of declarer.



